Liza- опрометчивый романс

“Taking a new step, uttering a new word, is what people fear most.”- Fyodor Dostoyevsky

4

признание от души мученика(confessions from the soul of a martyr)

Before you begin, understand that I have no problems with religion as a whole and these are purely my own personal experiences and reflections. Religion, for many, is a saving grace and makes a major positive impact in their lives, I, however, PERSONALLY did not find religion helpful and often felt ashamed of my uncertainties towards my faith. Finally, I have come to terms with my atheism and have found religious ideologies fascinating and humbling once I separated them from my own being. In this poem I will touch on my past with religion and my admiration of Joan of Arc, a French-Catholic Saint.


I have Joan of Arc’s soul,

selfless,

a martyr,

spirit spilling with ambition for

a siege of the selfless.

my mother, perhaps, breathed in her ashes

when she had me;

her embers embedded underneath my eyelids,

and I began to see all the treacheries that she fought against:

 

I was certain it was my duty to avenge her.

 

I devoted myself to God,

stringing together verses with my

own: a homemade friendship

bracelet I hoped He would accept,

 

I strayed away from surface level beauty:

I never made acquaintances with my reflection,

never shook hands with my features,

keeping my fingers off my face and

my insecurities underneath my faith.

 

soon enough I found myself blurring

the lines between religion

and morality,

I was told:

those who are faithless are reckless

senseless,

and

hell bound

and I began to whimper like a hound,

kneeling against my bed,

breathing in air and breathing out

prayer to maintain the wellbeing of

my loved ones without realizing the

impact of it on my own.

 

it started with my separation from religion;

I fell ill on Sunday mornings,

mourning the loss of my

once obstinate fidelity,

catching tears onto my tongue,

clinging onto the capsules

of my sanctity,

my place in heaven,

 

my soul

 

I grieved most of all for

my soul,

because I felt like I was

unworthy of harbouring a ship of

spirits in the deck of my

conscience,

Joan of Arc had set sail in

the ocean of my

virtue,

white sheets of dove

feathers,

floating as I

frantically baptize myself in

The once transparent water tainted,

opal;

my cross replaced by my birthstone

 

losing that piece of myself made me

feel naked,

made me believe I had lost her

blessing,

smeared her name,

disappointed her for

disgracing the cause

she had died for.

 

I had lost her guidance,

her blessing,

however,

her devotion to others stayed with me,

empathy became the new lense over my

eyes,

and I began to realize the

difference between

humanity and

divinity:

 

the subtleties hidden  

amid the

complexities of the human heart,

and the paths of eden,

revealing the connections between

vitality and virtue,

between worshipping warmth and

worshipping god,

how we are not so different than our ideas of the

supernal,

how we are among the celestial,

spinning in the sky;   

I dare not reach higher,

I simply serve others,

I sink into

the earth for

equality, as she

drifts into the sky for

sanctity.

 

seen as heretics for our loyalties

feared for our ambition.

our vigor,

devotion:

 

she is the maid of orleans,

I am the maid of obscurity;

 

while she is pious,

I am progressive;

 

a savior for religion,

I savour rebellion;

 

she blames no one for her

misfortune,

whereas I

blame my tongue because it doesn’t

curve like the great Albertan plains and,

I blame my tongue because it doesn’t

drift down like Russian snow,

I blame the measuring tape I wrap

around my waist like an

anaconda,

I blame the sins I’ve committed for

salvation,

I blame my mind for being an open

vessel,  

defenseless to passion,

poetry,

and

paradoxes.

 

we have both begged for respect

we have both been

peasant girls asking for an audience,

We have both been accused of

Being something we’re not:

saints,

soldiers,

sacrifices.

 

I have Joan of Arc’s soul,

selfless,

a martyr,

but I will be burned for different reasons.


This poem was inspired by my everlasting love and awe of Joan of Arc. In a way she frightens me because she reminds me of myself. What she did in the name of God is nearly identical to what I would do in the name of art, theater, literature, history, and humanity. As someone who has experienced religion and made the independent decision to become an atheist: I can say that religion is not for me, yet I still hold an appreciation for it in my heart.

 

Feature Image is from GIPHY and is a clip from the silent film, The Passion of Joan of Arc

Carl Theodor Dreyer Maria Falconetti GIF by Maudit - Find & Share on GIPHY

Joan of ArcMayPoemPoetryreligionsinsvirtue

lizamkv • June 10, 2018


Previous Post

Next Post

Comments

  1. jadeb2000 June 10, 2018 - 5:42 pm Reply

    Dear Liza,

    Wow!–That’s all I can say.

    Every aspect of this piece was so brilliantly executed–even your explication. Speaking of your explication, I’d like to specifically point out something you said in your introduction–”Finally, I have come to terms with my atheism and have found religious ideologies fascinating and humbling once I separated them from my own being.” This is something I have always felt but have often failed to articulate. So thank you for articulating these thoughts for me! Of course, I absolutely agree with you. Similarly, I also grew up in the presence of religion, but, instead of enjoying it–more importantly, instead of believing in it–it was, instead, a major source of anxiety for me. Because of this I particularly related to the line “I fell ill on Sunday mornings”.

    However, once I began distancing myself from religion, and once I identified myself as an atheist, the anxiety dissipated and I was able to, from an outside perspective, better appreciate religion without having to believe in it. For example, I truly do admire the stories from the Bible; I think they are fascinating and find that they have important takeaways even though I do not believe in them.

    Now, for the poem itself. Again–wow! Here are all the things I loved about it:

    – Nice use of homophones (i.e. morning vs morning)–I feel like it’s an underrated literary device that we don’t see too often anymore. Your poem alone has inspired me to integrate homophones into my writing in the future
    – Love these lines: ”Her embers embedded underneath my eyelids” and “We have both been accused of/ Being something we’re not: / saints, /soldiers, /sacrifices.”
    – I really appreciate your exploration of the differences between religion and morality; you are right–while there is nothing wrong with religion, religion should not be the only means by which good character and good deeds are defined
    – Way to end the poem off with a real bang–”but I will be burned for different reasons.” That’s some good stuff right there. It made your conclusion both powerful and poignant!

    Literally, the only thing I would suggest for improvements is maybe try not to use soul twice in the first stanza. Its repetition just didn’t seem necessary in that particular instance. That’s it for my “grows”, though.

    Beautiful work, Margaret! 😉

    Love,
    Mom

  2. lizamkv June 10, 2018 - 9:13 pm Reply

    Dearest Mom,

    AHH! I LOVE YOU SO MUCH!!

    Thank you so much for taking the time to read my poem and leaving such a kind and beautiful comment. I ‘m so happy that my poem was able to connect with you and I read your most recent post on your blog and I love that we have such similar ideas.

    I’ll also try to fix the first stanza right away because I completely agree with you 🙂 .

    Love you, Margaret ^_^

    ILAG,

    Liza

  3. heavyeyekandi June 13, 2018 - 1:25 am Reply

    Dear Liza
    wow I absolutely loved this poem! I admit that I really don’t get poetry. I find that it looks super easy but really hard to actually write. I loved the way that you compared yourself to Joan of Arc and how you weaved non fiction into this piece. I also loved how you explained how this poem was your personal view on religion even though you may not believe in it but you still respect it. I definitely relate to the idea of trying to making religion your own. I am Christian and its taken time for me to make my religion my own.
    For some improvements I think that in the line” those who are faithless are reckless senseless and hell bound” I think that you should get rid of the ‘and’ as I find that it stops the flow of the poem. other than that I thought it was beautiful.
    -Savannah

  4. claire351 June 19, 2018 - 6:06 pm Reply

    Dearest Liza,

    I adore this poem. I understand the feeling of not having a religion and feeling lost. I think the comparison to a well-known pious figure really worked in this piece. It helped illustrate how morals are not only applicable to religion. You really helped express some thoughts I had been having for awhile, but I couldn’t quite express.

    Honestly, no real improvements are coming to mind.

    I am so honored that I got to mooch off your thoughts this semester. I hope I can continue to learn and grow from you in the upcoming year.

    Love,

    Claire. P

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published / Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar